Homestyle Chicken Pot Pie

DSC_0333.jpg

Happy Valentines Day! Well, it was Valentines day when I made this.

This is Ceth’s absolute favorite meal so he requested it be made for his valentines day present. If you know Ceth then you know his love language is gifts. Every year, he blows me out of the water with thoughtful, sweet gifts. If you know me, you know I’m Mrs. Pinchpenny and gift giving really stresses me out because I feel like it has to be perfect. So, I usually don’t enjoy it as much. This year I thought we weren’t doing gifts because we’re on a tight budget but he surprised me anyway with new lens for my camera and filters. Gosh darnit, Ceth! Didn’t I feel great about myself. I mean, I’m ecstatic over the gift, of course. But why didn’t I do something like that? Oh yeah, because I’m gullible and I always think that he is going to stick to the plan of “no gifts” and I’m a cheapskate. Love that quality about myself… Any of you out there have this situation?

BUT when he asked for this Chicken Pot Pie for Valentines Day though I felt really happy that I could give him something that he wanted and that I knew would turn out yummy. He was so excited about it I almost felt like it evened out. Almost. 🙂

Now, before I dive into this, you should know that this recipe takes me at least an hour and fifteen minutes to make every time. It is not one of those simple, whip-up dinners BUT, it is worth it! There’s a reason it is Ceth’s favorite meal. To make the time even more worth it, it lasts for at least three meals and makes great leftovers.  He was so excited when he found out I was going to make it for him, it was really cute.

This recipe is from Favorite Family Recipes and it is wonderful! There’s no need to really change anything. I added a little bit more of the veggies and sauce to make my pie really full but her recipe is spot on. You can find their cute blog here:

http://www.favfamilyrecipes.com/chicken-pot-pie.html

I have a lot of fun making this recipe and I loved taking pictures of it this time!

If you’re wanting the crust recipe I used visit my No Fail Pie Crust recipe:

https://lemonmarinnpie.wordpress.com/2016/02/21/no-fail-pie-crust/

This is my cheater recipe. I’m secretly terrified to make pie crust but this one is so easy and really is a no fail.

Homestyle Chicken Pot Pie:

(This is an adapted version of the recipe. If you would like the original, visit the link above.)

  • 1 lb. Chicken
  • 3 potatoes
  • 1 1/2 cups frozen peas
  • 1 1/2 cups diced carrots
  • 5 chicken bouillon cubes
  • 1/3 cup of butter
  • 1/2 cup onion
  • 1 cup celery
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 3/4 cup chicken broth
  • 2/3 cup milk
  • 1 1/2 cup frozen corn
  1. Preheat your oven to 375. Make your pie crusts but do not cook them. Separate into two balls in seran wrap and place in the fridge. Sometimes I do this the day before to save time. (The link to mine is above.)
  2. Cut your chicken and potatoes and put them in a pot with water and 2 bouillon cubes until they are covered with water. Add your peas and carrots. Boil for about 15 minutes and drain.
  3. Get out one of your crusts and roll it out. Put it in the pie pan, poke a few holes in the bottom and sides so it does not bubble up, and put it in the oven for about 10 minutes. This time is going to vary on how thick your crust is. If you like your crust like mine, which is thick, it will take ten to twelve minutes to get done.
  4. While your pot is boiling get out a pan and saute your onions and celery in butter. Once your onions are translucent, add your flour, salt, and pepper to taste.Stir in your milk and chicken broth until your desired consistency. Add your corn. I like to add the last 3 bouillon cubes in this sauce for a strong flavor. It’s up to you though! Taste it with 1 and keep adding them until you get the flavor you like. I like it a little strong because when we add the sauce to the potatoes and chicken it will spread out leaving a perfect intensity of flavor.
  5. Add the sauce to the potato mixture, give it a taste to see if you want to add anything and pour it in your cooked crust.
  6. Roll out your second crust, put it on top, and put it in the oven for 35-40 minutes.

 

 

DSC_0274.jpg

I loved the colors of the onions and celery being sauteed together. I feel like a food nerd.. oh well.

DSC_0285.jpg

 

DSC_0306.jpg

I love how you can see how full this pie is in this picture. I fill it to the top baby.

DSC_0308.jpg

Ready to pop this sucker in the oven.

DSC_0314.jpg

How cute are my valentines?! Just waiting while the pie cooked in the oven. Don’t mind my brother in laws feet in the background or that I have a million shoes by my doorway. We live here, okay?! I swear the rest of my house is clean. Not my room. But that doesn’t count.

DSC_0335

If you make this let me know how it tastes! It’ll become a favorite. 🙂 Here’s one last picture of my handsome Calvin to just make your day. You’re welcome.

DSC_0321

-Marinn

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Pingback: No Fail Pie Crust

Leave a comment