Stuffed meat french bread

DSC_0543.jpg

When Ceth got home and saw I was about to put this in the oven I heard a “Yesssss.” It’s a favorite around here.

I found this idea on Pinterest and like always, didn’t go with the recipe but loved the idea so I made it my own. What I love about this is you can use whatever the heck vegetables you have in your fridge. Don’t have celery? That’s okay. Put something else in it. Be creative! This is just how I happened to make it last. I always do a variation of this.

DSC_0535.jpg

Add in whatever you can find! It is a simple, quick, good-mom recipe that I like to turn to that’s always results in a happy husband with a full stomach. I can sneak in a crap load of vegetables while still having the meat and looootttss of cheese. 🙂

DSC_0541.jpg

Stuffed Meat and Vegetable French Bread

  • 1 loaf of french bread
  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 1 onion
  • 5-7 celery stalks
  • 1 bell pepper, whatever color
  • 1 TBSP minced garlic
  • 2 diced carrots
  • 1 can cream of chicken soup
  • 1 TBSP of milk
  • 2 TBSP Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/4 teaspoon liquid smoke
  • 1 1/2 cups of whatever cheese you have
  1. Find whatever veggies in your fridge that you would like to use and dice them all up.
  2. Cook your ground beef and add your vegetables in the skillet to all cook through. Add the Worcestershire sauce, minced garlic, and liquid smoke.
  3. While cooking, slice your bread and scoop out one side of the bread so you have a bowl of bread chunks.
  4. Add the creak of chicken soup and milk to the cooked ground beef and veggie skillet.
  5. Once it is all cooked and mixed add it to your bowl of bread chunks and mix together.
  6. Pour out your meat mixture onto the french bread, cover in as much cheese as you would like, and cook till the bread is crispy and warm.

 

DSC_0542.jpg

Notes:

Recipe adapted from Life in the Lofthouse

DSC_0544.jpg

Hope you save it to one of your go-to meals like I did.

DSC_0550.jpg

xoxo,

Marinn

 

Leave a comment