Pineapple Teriyaki Chicken (Slowcooker)

 

DSC_0858.jpg

I’m posting this a little late because we finally moved yesterday! We are in good old South Carolina and it feels wonderful here. I’ll have to post at least one picture in my next recipe of the beautiful southern homes. We’ve had so much fun spending this last week with family and friends. Sad to leave Idaho. We have celebrated with a lot of food: cinnamon rolls (which will be put on the blog soon), muddy buddies, snacks galore, chili & cornbread, a bonfire with tin foil dinners, smores, more smores, pasta, cadbury eggs, pizza, chocolate, you name it. That’s how we celebrate our last hang outs together. So if you read my last post, remember when I said I was going to go on a no sugar week? Remember when I said don’t hold me accountable? Let’s end it there.

Well, with the chaos of moving, this meal is perfect for busy weeks like ours. Ceth absolutely loved it and loved it even more as leftovers. And I loved it too. It’s a slow-cooker meal so of course I’m gonna love it.

DSC_0802

It’s hard to get an appetizing picture of the before-it’s-cooked meals in the crockpot but I like to show them so you can know you’re on the right track. I always appreciate it when bloggers do that so I can know if I’m on the same page with them.

DSC_0832

With most slow-cooker recipes, mix all the ingredients in the pot and wait. Take out the chicken and it will look like the above picture. It was actually hard to take it out because it kept falling apart. Yum. I just pulled mine apart a bit.

DSC_0838

I cooked some plain rice and fried rice to go with it. I use the leftover sauce in the crockpot to mix in for the fried rice. Ceth and I love the frozen potstickers at the store so we always keep some on hand. We usually have them as a midnight snack. It’s a good side dish edition to whenever we have chinese though which is frequent since it’s Ceth’s favorite. He has a lot of favorites.


Teriyaki Chicken

  • 4-5 chicken breasts
  • 1/2 cup teriyaki sauce
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 1 cup crushed pineapple
  • 1/2 teaspoon minced garlic
  • 1/2 cup chicken broth
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 5 TBSP cornstarch mixed in with 1/4 cup water
  • sesame seeds for garnish, optional
  1. Place your chicken breasts in the crockpot. I put mine in frozen. Mix in all of the ingredients. Let sit for 6 hours.
  2. Take chicken out and pull apart. Put on top of rice. You can use the extra sauce in the crockpot to pour over.

DSC_0854.jpg

This is my little bowl with the plain rice. Fried rice is good too though!

DSC_0846

A blog post wouldn’t be complete without a cute picture of Calvy, my little assistant cook, trying to grab the camera as an ending picture.

 

-Marinn

Leave a comment